Press "Enter" to skip to content

How to delete Time Machine local snapshots in macOS

Apple’s Time Machine is an essential file backup tool for macOS, but it too has a backup that works off your Mac’s primary drive. Here’s how Time Machine’s local snapshots work, and how to get rid of them if you want them gone.Most Mac users are very familiar with Time Machine, Apple’s fantastic utility for keeping multiple copies of files backed up and accessible within minutes. Many will have favorable opinions of the tool, especially after using it to rescue an accidentally deleted, edited, or corrupted file that’s urgently needed for a task.It’s likely that many people think that Time Machine also only uses an external drive to house the files, but this isn’t quite true. In fact, part of its functionality takes place on the primary storage of the Mac, in a feature called local snapshots. Read more…
Source: Apple Insider News and Secrets on New Apple Products

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: